top of page

Track By Track Review: "Youngblood" By 5SOS

What a past few days it's been for the millions of 5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS) fans around the world as the band has finally dropped their 3rd studio album, Youngblood. As a fan myself, I sure have had the album on repeat!

The Australian four-piece band has been busy writing and putting together new music, and promo touring, since releasing their album, Sounds Good Feels Good in 2015. So, it's safe to say that 5SOS fans have been patiently waiting for this new album for quite some time.

Fans have been hearing about the album for a while from the boys themselves via social media and at the live promo shows. The boys have expressed just how proud they are of the album and how excited they are for the world to hear it, which made the long wait even harder. However, the band did release two of the tracks as singles throughout the past few months which fans went crazy for. The two tracks, "Want You Back" and "Youngblood" gave a glimpse into just how special this album was going to be, and it sure is!

Those two tracks are what start the album off, which I personally thought was great because I felt like I was continuing where I left off as track 3, "Lie To Me" began to play. It felt like 5SOS gave fans a sneak peak into two "chapters" of the full album and finally decided to give us the rest of the story. "Lie To Me" has such a cool beat mixed with the most emotionally-rich lyrics. All I could think about while listening was who the heck thought it was ok to hurt 5SOS's heart so bad that they had to write this song. If I had to choose this might be my favorite track on the album. So good. Also, can we just talk about Luke's voice at the beginning? I about fell over.

Track number 4 is "Valentine" which I heard the band play live on the Minneapolis stop of their promo tour this spring. I remember freaking out as the band played it because Michael has a solo in the song, which doesn't always happen. You can't help but love a good Michael solo, lets be real.

Track 5 is "Talk Fast" which is a total bop! It is totally a song that you need to play while driving around town with your windows down. This track is definitely one of my favorites on the album. It has a cool 80s vibe to it and I'm just so here for it! The band also played this track on their promo tour and I remember the crowd dancing around as it played which was such a cool thing to experience.

Tracks 6 and 7 are "Moving Along" and "If Walls Could Talk." "Moving Along" was also played on the band's promo tour and is the first track on the album to give me an "old 5SOS vibe." It also is one that is full of so many relatable lyrics.

"If Walls Could Talk" has a cool beat to it, and the great falsettos will get stuck in your head on the first listen. Also, Ashton, the band's drummer, absolutely kills the vocals in this track! So if you are an "Ashton girl" this track is definitely for you.

Track 8, "Better Man", is one of the tracks on the album that took me by surprise. I had no idea that 5SOS was even capable of sounding like they do in this song. To me, the track has a bit of a "salsa dancing" vibe to it which is super cool!

"More" and "Why Won't You Love Me" are next. "More" is a total banger and it has a sick guitar riff. It is definitely a song that needs to be on the tour setlist because I guarantee it will be a track that fans go sooo hard for in concert.

"Why Won't You Love Me" is beautiful. It is one of the tracks that I connected to personally. It is one of the slower tracks on the album and the lyrics are beautiful. It pulls hard on your heart strings, so prepare yourself if you haven't listened to it yet!

Following is "Woke Up In Japan" which is one of the tracks that I haven't heard many people talking about, but I honestly think its really catchy and deserves a listen.

"Empty Wallets" is another one of the songs in my top five. It is also a super catchy song and for the past two days I've found myself randomly singing it throughout the day.

"Ghost Of You" is also in my top five. It is so dang beautiful both vocally and lyrically. From the first listen my heart strings were about torn, almost broken. It is a track that gives you the goosebumps and is a must have on your "late night feels" playlist.

"Monster Among Men" is another sad song on the album. However, like "Ghost Of You" it is full of beautiful lyrics and when it is put together with the vocals and music it is truly a great work of art.

Finally, the last two tracks on the album are "Meet You There" and "Babylon". "Meet You There" is full of drums which is quite a gift for all the Ashton girls out there! It also has an awesome bass line drop and I can't even begin to imagine how crazy the atmosphere will be when this song is played live in concert. Also, the track is the title of their upcoming tour.

"Babylon" is the track that caused all Calum girls to fall to the floor. It's full of incredible vocals, lyrics, and even a cool bass drop. You can't help but love it.

Overall, 5 Seconds of Summer's new album, Youngblood is truly a masterpiece. As a fan, I am so dang proud of this band and I am sure the millions of others are too. If you haven't listened to it yet, go do so!

5 Seconds of Summer is headed on tour soon! Check out dates and tickets for the "Meet You There" tour here.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page